Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you about this being my first bike venture into the bike world? i have ridden a dirt bike long time ago. When i was a youth, as most of you. thanks for the advice. I know it was the ZX600 a few years ago and seems somewhat tame. So what advice do you all have. thanks ...Mike

·
Registered
361 Posts
the new 05 zzr600 is the zx6r of three years ago. probably not the best starter bike

the previous model 04 was the old zx600e, different bike, commonly refered to as the "e" box, not a bad bike, dated by todays SS bike standards, but I think they are still more capable then a first rider is.

either model is probably more then I would recommend a total noob and neither without safety gear and the MSF course first

·
Registered
202 Posts
It's do-able if you don't get ahead of yourself and take all the precautions. Make sure you take the MSF class and practice in parking lots until your 100% comfortable. Being your first bike, you will most likely drop it in one way or another, which is why people suggest lighter bike with less fairings.

A ZZR600 is definately not the optimal beginner bike and if you mess up, there will be ZERO forgiving features to help you out of the situation.

The best path of action, in my opinion, is to ride a 500 Ninja, GS500, or Ninja 250 (older, cheaper ones) for about 2000 miles atleast to get the basics down on more forgiving bikes, then sell it (and they sell FAST) and buy a newer ZZR600 that would act as your more permanent bike, that you might keep for a couple years.

One last thing: Make sure you buy all your gear beforehand. Jacket, gloves, boots and a helmet are the must-haves (also buy pants if your going to be riding outside of town on the highways).

·
what R you lookin' at?
5,313 Posts
1st bike after MSF

buy small 500cc or less, buy used, buy cheap, buy cash

it's your first bike, not last.

and an '05 zzr600 is NOT a beginner bike.

·