Sport Bikes banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had my bike 2 months and not a scratch on her, was at the movies and some kids thought it would be fun to push my FZ6 and a mates FZ6(02)
over, when I stopped cursing after picking the bikes up. Saw that the yamaha frame sliders I had bought had just sheared right off. I was wondering if anybody else has used them, or are they designed to do that on impact?

There was minimal damage to my bike, but my mates was a bit trashed.

Attachments

·
Super Nibber
501 Posts
Over here, movie theatre parking lots are a really great place to get you bike either stolen or molested. It says "I'm all alone for two hours".

Sorry to hear about your bikes, glad yours wasnt damaged too much, what kind of sliders do you have?

·
Registered
159 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I'd like to think that a stationary "fall" over shouldn't shear (new?) frame sliders. Maybe Yamaha had a bad batch of aluminium and owes you some new sliders?

+2c

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Guys, going to see my dealer tomorrow! will see what they say! not going to fork out another $130 on this type if they don't replace them! Will have to wait and see! Good point about leaving the bikes alone for 2hrs..going to be a lot more carefull in future. Still would hate to know what would have happend if I had spilled it while going at a moderate speed? the slider probably would have done very little to protect my bike.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I just asked my deal for a set and they said they can't get them for two months... this is in the USA though... but now might go aftermarket....

·
Livin' on the Edge!
1,461 Posts
after seeing and hearing that, I would stay as far away from those as possible. Get you some REAL sliders man! Thanks for sharing that. I wouldn't use them now if they were given to me.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #8