Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok here is the deal. I ride on the street primarily. I've loved all three of these bikes since the day they were rumors. Ive been riding for about 7 years now and Have owned everything from a Ninja 250 to a TL1000R and even a 250 dual sport.

I usually ride for about 4 hours at a time, I hate the interstate and spend most of my time playing in corners and accelerating under 100mph.

Daytona 675: Man, what a great looking bike that sounds even better. However it does have a committed riding position, and I worry about its ability to goad you into going faster and faster because it just feels right. The handling is a dream though(like any sportbike:D)

2nd Gen FZ1: Literbike power. I do love the rush of acceleration(TLR taught me that) Handling is still great, and its ALOT more comfy which might allow me to enjoy a more relaxed pace from time to time without feeling "rushed" by the bike? Also great prices on these used

XR1200: Looks great, sounds great. Handles ok power isnt awesome..but I suspect I could live with it. The thought with me is a "more fun to ride a slow bike fast" This might make it a better backroad bomber.

So to get to the point, Has anyone had the chance to compare any of these three bikes to eachother? How did YOU feel about them?

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Of the three bikes you listed, I personally would go with the Daytona 675. HOWEVER, I do not know how you feel about it's riding position. For me it was a perfect match, but for you it may be a "torture rack" as others have called it. So if the Daytona turned out to be not for you, go with the FZ1. Seems like the best bike judging how you wrote your post.

·
The cake is a lie
10,153 Posts
Only input I can provide is that the XR1200 is crap. Do yourself a favour and steer clear.

Haven't ridden the other 2 listed, but have lusted after the 675 in the past.

·
Slowpoke
1,631 Posts