Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This was a posting that was posted to a local forum, but the incident happened in California. This is a direct copy of the original posters post to that forum. Just wanna see what you guys have to say.

Note; he has consulted lawyers (so he says) but, he obviously wants to hear what "joe public" has to say (if I was a lawyer, i would have told him to STFU about this and not post this to a PUBLIC Forum).

To make a long story short......

My car was legally parked along side a curb during rush hour which is about 1PM. I open my door like 2 inches, it clips onto a motorcyclist who is driving between a moving car and a parked car, causing him to crash into my door and then into another truck and then fall down ultimately damaging my car's driver side door, his motorcycle, and his knee which he broke.

I am now getting letters from his lawyer saying that I am responsible for his $50K+ hospital bill, not including damage to his motorcycle and whatever.

I have no car insurance. I am a working part-time student living on my own 3,000 miles away from home with credit card debt, no assets and no money, just barely getting by basically.

Does he have a chance against me in court? If yes, what should I do? I already talked with a few different lawyers but I want to know what your guys opinions are. If not, how long does he have before the case is closed? I mean I dont want to buy a house in 7 years and then get a lawsuit against me and risk losing my house or assets for something that happened to me 10 years ago that i dont even believe was my fault. That would suck. I know this isn't a legal website or anything I just want your guys opinion on what I should do.