Sport Bikes banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Looking for an easy to ride, and Fairly comfortable bike. Comfortable to use throttle and clutch would be nice. I’m a novice, have some experience. I had a 600 years back, for a short period. And ridden dirt bikes over the years. I’m going to ride the Easy country roads until I get more comfortable.

These bikes are all in the same price range, very affordable. And all appear to be in good shape.

Hoping I can get some opinions on the models.
Any major issues? Harder maintenance or problems?

1-Kawasaki CSR 1000. 1982 I think. Great shape very low miles. Probably my favorite.

2-Suzuki GS 500E great shape not sure of miles

3-Honda Shadow 600 1993 bobber.

4-Yamaha virago 1998 with gear. To note on this one- it does say “not sure when it ran last”. May be a divorce type of thing as it includes gear but I don’t know. Looks to be in good

5- there’s a lot of the Honda cb 400 type of bikes.And similar models but with b***** engines. Most have a lot of miles though and haven’t been gone through yet.
there were some nice ones but the price goes up fast.

·
Registered
95 Posts
What's your price range/budget? You can get newer bikes for sub-$2000 if you hunt and haggle.

You don't say what size the Virago is. Stay away from the 920s. They have a variety of odd electrical gremlins that the smaller versions don't usually have.

I'd say off hand that the GS-500 and Shadow are more likely to be less trouble, but they are also different styles of bikes. The Honda Shadow is pretty bulletproof in general, but that someone's made it into a bobber could be ok or a disaster, depending on how it was done. I'm not a big fan of no front fender, for example. I ride in the rain and sometimes just travel and get caught in it. It does have a much lower seat height, which may or may not be a factor for you as a self described novice.