Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know a fix for the annoying vibration at around 5 to 6k RPMs? My hands go numb after riding for a short while. Maybe different handlebars? I just did my 600 mile oil change. Own it for about a month. Love the bike, but this vibration is very annoying to me. It happens to be the RPM for most of my riding at cruise speeds. Should I just downshift and rev the piss out of it? Haven't seen past 8K yet. Don't see the need and I'm not experienced enough yet. thanks for any helpful info. :mad:

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
I've heard the Power Commander will reduce the vibration quite a bit. I can't speak first hand on this. I kinda formed a habit of either shifting just before the vibration or revving the engine higher than 7k. Only time I really notice it is cruising speed of 60-65 in 6th gear. It's weird tho cause somedays I feel it more than others. I have to say tho revving this 4 up to 8k and above screams so sweet. I am past the 1000 mile mark so the break in is done. The engine shows it's R6 roots 8k and above. The only downside to revving the engine high is speed limits. 2nd gear will get you to about 70mph and 3rd will get you 100mph. So you can't enjoy those high revs too much. :(

·
Registered
38 Posts
One thing I learned about gripping the grips is to keep my hands loose...especially on long trips. My other bikes vibrated more than this FZ6, and as soon as I gripped too hard, I would feel my hands numb after 20 mins of riding.

Also read somewhere here that there is a foam you can place in the bar that would reduce vibration. Haven't tried this myself.

Last thing is maybe get some better padded gloves. This fieldsheer has gel inserts on the palms that could help. Again, haven't tried this myself... just theories :)

http://fieldsheer.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=98

·
Registered
149 Posts