Sport Bikes banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
ZRO BLNG
1,839 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have the title to the bike I purchased. Since I have never done this before I thought I would ask a few simple questions....

Do I sign the title and take it to the DMV so I can get the motorcycle registered in my name?

Is there anything else I need to do? Any idea of the cost or am I missing something?

·
Registered
225 Posts
Prob'ly the same as your car. Here in Mass, you bring the title to your ins. co, pay them money, get a form from them, bring it to the DMV, pay them more money, they give you the plates and registration. ride bike. Could be different where you are.

·
Twitter @eloquenceinc
1,733 Posts
florida does not require bikes to be insured, so if you are in a state like florida, you simply take your title to the DMV (with your signature and date on it, of course) and get the tags...

...some people have been known to write in a MUCH LOWER sale price on the title than is on the original bill of sale...so as to avoid significant sales tax...

or so i have heard... ***whistles***

·
Registered
9,600 Posts
Brownilus said:
...some people have been known to write in a MUCH LOWER sale price on the title than is on the original bill of sale...so as to avoid significant sales tax...

or so i have heard... ***whistles***
I believe they call that fraud...

·
ZRO BLNG
1,839 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, I only paid $2k for the motorcycle so I'm not too worried about sales tax. I was just curious about the registration part and costs. I'm trying to get everything done in one or two days. Registration, insurance, safety inspection, Hawaii DL test (since I'm on an out of state license), Hawaii motorcycle endorsement, then I'm on the road, "legally."

·
Banned
2,093 Posts
Just did mine today -
1. MD Saftey inspection
2. MD Ins (Required in MD)
3. Title and registration (tags)