Sport Bikes banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Official SBN Party Pooper
20,262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many people here are well versed in UNIX? I'm taking a bunch of courses through my work to help supplement the sys admin people with their jobs (there's only 2 and one's leaving). I have basic UNIX down...cd, mkdir, ftp, etc Is it pretty easy to pick up? I'm a rather quick learner. I may not get it the first few times but after that I won't have a problem. I'm not a sys admin by trade at all but I figured this would be good experience down the road and nice to have on the resume.

Any good books that you recommend to study on? I'm signed up for a course that provides a tutorial but class isn't for awhile.

Thanks

·
Banned
2,093 Posts
Hey, As far as a good book, I can't really give you one. There are several, but regardless of what you read in a book, ls, ftp, chmod, tail, cat, vi, etc. you are not going to remember the commands when you need them. Aside from the basic commands, they will all mesh together until you use them on a daily basis.

A few recomendations for you, pick up a good book that you can use as a referance. "The complete guide to <insert flavor here>" is just a copy of the documentation that is already installed on the system. Get a book or a cheat sheet on what the commands are. A few guides to refer to when you have problems or questions are always useful. While I don't use this one anymore, it did help me when I was getting started. http://techrepublic.com.com/5100-1035_11-1059354.html?tag=search

Another very useful command is "man <command>" for example
server1:# man chmod
or
server1:# man scp