Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I recently bought a 1995 zx7 and now second gear is slipping. How hard is it to change the transmission in a sport bike. I have had some experience working on small dirtbikes but just want to see how much of a job it will be. The dealer wants 1200.00 to fix but i can get a tranny for 100-200 online.

Thanks for the help
Craig

·
DT is happy it snowed
1,582 Posts
Well the motor will have to come out and the cases will then have to be split. If he doesn't post, try to pm benjester. He just did a 2nd gear fix on his R6.

·
The Ugly TwatWaffle
8,369 Posts
Yeah just cause a gear is slipping doesn't mean your tranny is trashed. Could be your plates/springs.

·
All new kind of FAST!!
286 Posts
yeah, you have to pull the engine out of the bike... literally disassemble the entire thing.... split the cases, as that is where the actual transmission is. With a good book, and some knowledge from friends, things went pretty smoothly for me... plan on stripping out at least one bolt... lol.

Diamond and myself tore apart the engine in the fall, got everything together and reassembled it in the spring with the help of Jake, and RhythmsDJs... if you don't know what you are doing, get a really good manual, and plan on a couple weeks. It can be done in a weekend with enough prep work, and someone who knows what they are doing.

Shane makes a good point... if the clutch is just slipping, clutches are easy to do on sport bikes... it if is skipping or jumping out of gear, could be the tranny...

·
All new kind of FAST!!
286 Posts
You also might want to consider replacing all the gears in the tranny as long as you have it open... that is what i did.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7