Sport Bikes banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about doing a track day sometime before the season is over and am considering what gear I'll need to get. I've been riding for about 14 months now and I don't own any leather yet. I've been wearing a Gericke textile jacket and I've been wanting to get a leather jacket for the street as well.

So, what I am wondering is, should I get some sort of two piece suit so I can wear the jacket when I'm doing casual street riding? Is it a big sacrifice in safety to take a two piece suit to the track rather than a one piece? Whichever way I go, I want to have a leather jacket for the street so if I buy a one piece suit, I'll buy a separate jacket as well.

Does anybody have recommendations on specific brands and/or models of gear I should get? I'd like to keep it all under $1000 whether that be a one piece suit and a separate jacket or a two piece setup.

·
old member
13,079 Posts
I find a two-piece leather suit much more convenient although I NEVER wear the jacket without the pants. Why wouldn't you want the skin on your legs protected every time you get on the bike? When you stop to take a break, you can take the jacket off and you don't have the top part of the one-piece following you around all the time. :lol

Most track event organizers allow two-piece suits that have a full zipper at the waist. I've been told that the only potential safety issue with a two-piece is that the flap at the end of the jacket over the zipper could turn a slide into a tumble if it happens to catch on something on the road/track. That's a remote enough possibility for me to accept.

Won't comment on specific brands, but you could get a great two-piece suit for under $1000.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3