Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
769 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i'm just getting into bikes as i got my first a few weeks ago. i'm just wondering about bikes for track days. would you bring your nice new bike to a track day or would you bring an older beaten up bike. just wondering if you got to the track expecting to crash and ruin a bike or are wrecks at the track about as rare as they are on the street?

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
or just buy a set of rashed plastics off ebay and throw them on for TD's.. Might cost you $50 or less.

·
Registered
42 Posts
i use my f4i at the track. after my 1st lowside. i ditched the rashed oem plastics & got some race plastics. if i had a choice, i'd get a 250cc 2-stroke for the track.

·
You will be missed Shawn
6,508 Posts
backmarkin88 said:
if i had a choice, i'd get a 250cc 2-stroke for the track.

+1. i've actually been pricing them b/c I want one so bad...maybe this winter I'll have enough saved up for it. I would personally get a track bike if I could afford it, but I can't so I throw race plastics on it for the track...

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
MUAHAHAHAHA! You all envy me so much. My track whore isn't exactly a TRUE 250GP, but it's as close as it gets without getting a Yamaha TZ250 or Honda RS250R.

Basically as a first track bike, you can't go wrong with an SV650. HOWEVER, if you are mechanically inclined and feel comfortable tearing into your engine, you can find a nice mid 90's model TZ250 with spares for $4000 no problem. I believe those year models have about 75hp and weigh in at a paltry 220lbs or so (80lbs less than my RS250!). You will never have more fun riding on the track than on a 250GP bike, it's unreal almost!

But if you wanna go the cheap route, buy some used plastics, or spend $500 and get some fiberglass race bodywork. All you need then is a few cans of primer and spray paint, and a creative mind :D

·
Procrastinator
36 Posts