Sport Bikes banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would just like to thank everyone who told me to start small for my first bike.
I bought a 2000 ninja 500r. i love riding this bike.
I have been riding for a little over 2 months now and i am really starting to feel comfortable and in control.
I ride with a group in town and 95% of the bikes are b***** than 500's
there are a handleful of 600 SS's, a gsxr 750, an couple SV 650's an SV1000 and a TLR 1000 and a bunch more but you get the idea.
i have been into cars and trucks and stuff my whole life, always picked up on mechanical stuff very quickly. also learn my limits quickly.
on the last couple group rides, i have been trying to push my self to what i feel comfortable.
Right now im almost able to hang with the 600 ss's. well at least until they get a good straight.
I now know that when i upgrade to a b***** bike in the future i will be the best rider i can be.

Just seems that lots of people here getting fustrated with newb's asking the same 600 SS question.
Just thought you guys would like to know that some of us actually listen and appreciate your advise!

·
old member
13,079 Posts
Glad it's working out so well for you. Keep riding your own ride and don't get sucked into anything over your head. Before long you'll be hanging with all the bikes in your group (at least through the twisties as you say).

·
Official SBN Party Pooper
20,262 Posts
When I first started riding in groups I didn't ride my own ride. I was trying to ride what everyone else was riding. Knowing that the people I rode with have been riding for years and know the roads like the back of their hands. Very quickly though I realized that it was okay to be the last person and that even though everyone was waiting 10mins for my slow azz they were happy that I was there then having to go back and find me hanging off the cliff.