Sport Bikes banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Two-stroke addict
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all you active duty folks, first, thanks for your service.
Thankfully for me my only "wartime" service was in the so-called "Cold War."

I'm a veteran ('76-'79) of 73rd MI Co., Stuttgart Army Airfield and 2nd MI Battalion, Pirmasens, of which 73rd is one of the companies. I was wondering if there are any current military on this site serving at either one of those posts, if they're still active, and if you have any pics. Even after nearly 30 years I miss the great roads in Germany & plan to try & make it back there soon with a Cafe Racer I built (avatar) envisioned while on backroads over there in '78.

The only road name I remember near Pirmasens is Rodalbestrasse, just on the backside of the Kaserne, a great little twisty road I used to scrape the pegs on my RD on going to the town of Rodalben. There were some nice twisty and sweeper roads between Stuttgart AAF & "stadtmitte" Stuttgart I remember being really fun.

Anyone able to help me with a dose of nostalgia relief?

·
Registered
86 Posts
I find myself on Perm every once in awhile, not much is left under Army control these days. 90% of the warehouse space and most of the housing was turned over to the Germans a few years back, although I have not seen Perm on the chopping block for closure. Its difficult to even get on Permasens these days as most of what is left is sensitive in nature and you need to be on the "guest list" to even enter the gate. Next time I am in town restocking my fridge with Perminators I will see if I can get you some pics....The weather and roads are freaking PERFECT right now. I know of a few spots you might remember.

:cheers

·
Two-stroke addict
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks a bunch, Rekab!
I used to ride into K-town to see 1FC Kaiserslautern play in the Bundesliga.