Sport Bikes banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so here's what i got...

Tuesday of last week, speedo stopped working, first could reset by turning off ignition and would work for a little bit, then quit all together. Was in lansing, so on friday I rode the bike back to my parents house to work on it..

Speedometer started working about 20 miles from home, tore bike apart last night anyway to check wiring, everything seemed fine, so went out for a ride late last night and it quit about 2 miles from parents house.

This morning here is what i have...

+12v power from battery to speedometer (checked at bottom side of vss (vehicle speed sensor) connector (black = +12v, green = ground, pink = signal)

I have a constant +5v signal from the pink wire to ground(back side of the vss connector) and i have continuity all the way up to the dash in the pink wire, so I know it's all connected.

There is no short to ground from pink wire to green, and the signal voltage (+5v) never drops to zero like it's supposed to. SO i think I need a new sensor.

Question: Does the gauge cluster emit the +5v which is then pulled to ground at the sensor (what i have is steady +5v) or should the constant voltage be 0v and then a 5v pulse is generated by the sensor??? (Me thinks not?)

Also, if I rotate tire I do not get a +5v pulse to 0v like i did last night, it's just a constant +5v....

so what i'm thinking is I need a new sensor, which is about 60 bucks from ron ayers... anyone with any advice is welcome...

Discuss.....:eatpop
 
X

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Does the speedometer and odometer quit working at the same time? That would indicate either wiring, or the speed sensor.
If its just the speedometer, then that is whats faulty.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,643 Posts
On my VFR the speedo quit working when the voltage regulator went south. It seems that the speedo requires a certain amount of voltage to make it work. You may want to check the charging voltage, should be 14.5V at 5K rpm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
both speedo and odo quit working together, which is nice and all but i really wanna know how fast I'm going :D...

The signal voltage appears to be +5V and 0v in a square pulse wave... and right now it seems that the sensor is stuck sending +5V constantly, instead of pulsing to 0...

What I'm really asking is does the cluster send out the +5V and the sensor pulls it to ground, or does the sensor send a +5V pulse to the cluster... in other words, does the cluster sit dormant low or high, and is the pulse transmitted low or high, (negative or positive logic)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hey wassup man i have a 2007 cbr 600rr. my speedometer and my odometer arent working the mph stay on zero and the odometer doesnt count the miles.. im also asuming that its the speed sensor... my question was.. would you know the part # for that? Because the dealer is trying to charge me 150 for it
 

·
Turbo nerd.
Joined
·
13,732 Posts
Ok so here's what i got...

Tuesday of last week, speedo stopped working, first could reset by turning off ignition and would work for a little bit, then quit all together. Was in lansing, so on friday I rode the bike back to my parents house to work on it..

Speedometer started working about 20 miles from home, tore bike apart last night anyway to check wiring, everything seemed fine, so went out for a ride late last night and it quit about 2 miles from parents house.

This morning here is what i have...

+12v power from battery to speedometer (checked at bottom side of vss (vehicle speed sensor) connector (black = +12v, green = ground, pink = signal)


I have a constant +5v signal from the pink wire to ground(back side of the vss connector) and i have continuity all the way up to the dash in the pink wire, so I know it's all connected.

There is no short to ground from pink wire to green, and the signal voltage (+5v) never drops to zero like it's supposed to. SO i think I need a new sensor.

Question: Does the gauge cluster emit the +5v which is then pulled to ground at the sensor (what i have is steady +5v) or should the constant voltage be 0v and then a 5v pulse is generated by the sensor??? (Me thinks not?)

Also, if I rotate tire I do not get a +5v pulse to 0v like i did last night, it's just a constant +5v....

so what i'm thinking is I need a new sensor, which is about 60 bucks from ron ayers... anyone with any advice is welcome...

Discuss.....:eatpop

Ok here is what is happening.

Hall effect - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If you are getting a steady 5VDC its most likely being generated by the gauge. Since you have ruled out short and a open its safe to assume that the the circuit hasn't been compromised.

There are a lot of way to use hall effect, but the sensor would be the next thing I would check. The sensors are known to fail periodically. They are usually fairly cheap.
 

·
Turbo nerd.
Joined
·
13,732 Posts
Hey wassup man i have a 2007 cbr 600rr. my speedometer and my odometer arent working the mph stay on zero and the odometer doesnt count the miles.. im also asuming that its the speed sensor... my question was.. would you know the part # for that? Because the dealer is trying to charge me 150 for it
Wait till you see where its mounted :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,125 Posts
If you are getting a steady 5VDC its most likely being generated by the gauge.
The electrical systems in the newer injected/computer controlled bike are using a 5v reference for all sensors. So if you have 5v at the wire to the sensor, it's more than likely the sensor not sending the proper information. Tripped is right about the hall effect sensors occasionally failing. You may have to bite the bullet and pay for that sensor. PS: Have fun installing it too.
 

·
second chimp in space
Joined
·
3,344 Posts
^^ The original thread is 3 years old. New guy resurrected it instead of starting a new one.

Hey wassup man i have a 2007 cbr 600rr. my speedometer and my odometer arent working the mph stay on zero and the odometer doesnt count the miles.. im also asuming that its the speed sensor... my question was.. would you know the part # for that? Because the dealer is trying to charge me 150 for it
 

·
Turbo nerd.
Joined
·
13,732 Posts
damn

I've been necroed!

oh NOES!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
2006 CBR 600rr Speed sensor

Hey wassup man i have a 2007 cbr 600rr. my speedometer and my odometer arent working the mph stay on zero and the odometer doesnt count the miles.. im also asuming that its the speed sensor... my question was.. would you know the part # for that? Because the dealer is trying to charge me 150 for it
Hey Whats up, I had the same problem on my 2006 CBR 600RR. I made the mistake of buying a used sensor and just my luck it did not work. I bought one From BikeBandit.com for about $70.00 and installed it myself. (twice). Part number is 642482 (37700-mel-000). Its possible to install it without taking off the gas tank. Its a painful and slow proses but its probably easier than taking off the gas tank. The sensor is held by a 10MM bolt, so get a small ratchet and a 10mm socket. It was hard to break the seal at 1st but once I manage to break it (used a small cheater bar) I was able to remove with my fingers. I recommend removing the plug 1st. the space is very tight. Just above the shifting bar. (its like trying to finger a fat girl without unzipping her pants.) Its very tight to remove but it is possible. Just need some patience. The 1st time I did it, it took me 2 hours. the 2nd time I did it in about 45 minutes and that was with the help of my 2 year old that wanted to help. Good luck with it. I hope this helps. The p
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Sorry, I also have a problem with my Triumph Daytona 600. Can any one help me with this following problem. Im riding my bike as usual but when I shut it off and try to start it back again It wont start. I have to let cool down in order for it to start back again. can any one tell me please what is causing this trouble with my bike and what I can do to fix it. Thanks
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top