Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, i'm THE new comer today heh. I've been reading the forum for past couple of days and had read about much good info, so firstly i want to say very nice forum!

I have been riding since 2007/08. Starting with a scooter (yes, scooter :beer) and then the smallest harley. Had about 20k miles on the scooter and about another 15k on the harley now. The harley I have now is a 2011 Sportster 883 that I am trying to trade for a SB, mainly for several reasons despite the fact i really like its look. Noise, vibration, and sluggishness. It was my first harley and first "big" bike, so I did not really know whether my riding style and personal preference fit the bike before I bought it. But after all the time with the bike, I cannot stand the loudness like most HD owners, which, for them, is not "stand" but "love". The vibration is also giving me some dizzy time as I wake up in the morning and ride to school on a daily basis except for winter and raining time.

I have read the stickies (not word by word though) in the new rider forum and have a rough idea about what displacement to get as my first SB. I am thinking about something around 600cc, not too little, not too much. I do not really want to get a 250cc because I'm afraid that I have this evil urge to upgrade immediately after about 1-2 weeks on it, like I had with the current sportster. Another interesting fact about me is that, I am more fond of european bikes compared to jappers, even though I really know little about sportbikes at this point.

I felt like I had a lot to ask before I started writing this post, but now I cannot organize them well(not a very logical person here..). So I'll just start with the two most concerned questions for me and add whatever I remember later.