Sport Bikes banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bike: 2006 gsxr 600
Problem:

Well where do I start. Just got back from being out of town for a week, (I install Solar panels for a living.) Wanted to take the old lady out for a ride, uip to st. pete beach. Started out great. Bike cranked up we geared up and hit I75. Lovely day cold front creepin down south, and everything is great. In the back of my mind the whole time I had a funny feeling something was wrong. Been worried bout my tires and what not, bike felt funny to me to.. Anyhow enough drama, we are headed to a toll booth to a big bridge down here in the South, and I pull up in line behind another car, I am idling, and my bike's engine stops. At first I thought I let go of my clutch since it happened so fast, and was odd. tried to kick in logic. Anyhow I tried to restart, dead, hit my ignition and dim, dim, then dimmer.. til it was a dead stick. Imagine the horror, dead bike at a toll plaza, so I am walking my bike across mad cages like frogger to get to the parking lot, for the toll employee's. Whole time I am thinking cops gonna come bother me now.

SO I got the old lady pushing , I am pushing trying to spark her back up. After about ten minutes of this I realize it wont work. Battery need some juice to charge the coils, for the R/R or whatever it was my bud said. Not magneto.. So my boys come with the truck and pick me up, got my girls home, now I am beiging to worry about the bike. My gut is telling me it my be the r/r, strange for the battery to just croak after its getting fed juice driving down the interstate in high rpm's. Yet I beleive its still the factory battery in her.