Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Mexican Hard Shell Taco
5,894 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding on the street daily for two years, but since I was 5 I had a minibike. On my streetbikes I've made aprox. 25,000 miles.

However, the first one was a 150cc "cruiser", and then I bought a 150cc standard and a 250cc cruiser (like a Suzuki Marauder). Well, the 250cc is gone and the 150cc I'm going to keep it...

I'm used to bikes with no more than 18hp, brakes that require a strong hand and full grab to get them to stop, and running full throttle most of the time. Now I feel as if I was unable to handle a sportbike!

Now I have a chance to buy a real sportbike, I'm looking at 94-98 600cc sportbikes, katanas and fizzers (whatever I can find that fits my small budget), but I think I'm going to do a stoppie or loop it, or run too fast.

Don't know, even after two years of daily riding I still don't feel ready for a sportbike...

·
Registered
304 Posts
First, If you you feel you not ready for a sportsbike then, maybe your not.

Second, go to MSF classes they will teach you more than you think you know.

Third, don't be scared of the bike, be scared of yourself. The bike will only do what YOU tell it to do.

Riding a sportsbike is similar to riding a crusier, every control is the same and is the same place. But sportier have more power. Basically you have to learn your bike, like when you had to learn your crusier. How much it takes to get it going, how it handles and the way it handles, how much brakes it take to come to a stop.

Every bike is different, there are no two bike the same. Just like DNA each have it own signature.

When I first moved up from a 250 to a 600, I thought the samething, but it wasn't bad at all. Then the same thought when I moved from a 600 to a 750. But again it wasn't that bad.

Learn the bike is all you have to do.

·
Registered
912 Posts
Süsser Tod said: