Sport Bikes banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm getting back into riding and feeling very discouraged about how badly my skills have rusted after a few years out of the saddle. I'm hoping someone here has experience with this and can share their wisdom.

I started riding almost 10 years ago. I took a beginner's riding course, passed my tests, and bought a 1980's 600. I'm a very small person, and my goal was to learn how to handle a tall, heavy bike. I never wanted to have to mess with the suspension on a bike by lowering it. I did drop my bike a couple of times in the very beginning due to having trouble getting my footing at a standstill, but before long I was totally comfortable and never had an issue with the height again.

Then life got in the way and I no longer had the time or money to devote to riding. It sucked, but I thought to myself that there's always next year. One year turned to 6. I'm finally able to get back into riding this season. I was so excited, I've been counting down the days for months. Except that when I brought my bike to an empty parking lot to practice, I found that my skills have gotten very rusty, and my confidence is totally shot. The skills and techniques I had trained to become instinctive don't come naturally anymore. I'm actually scared of my bike now. I've always been a very cautious rider, but I don't recall ever feeling afraid of my bike. It feels like I'm starting over again as a total beginner. Since the weekend I haven't had a chance to try again, but I'm going to take my bike back to the parking lot tonight.

Any thoughts or advice?

·
Registered
377 Posts
Take the MSF course again. When I took the course there was a guy that said its been 25 years since he rode and is looking to get back into it. I talked to him after wards and he was very happy he took the course.

·
Registered
3,877 Posts