Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wondering if sport bikes have some type of governor or anything on them that can be adjusted on a bike to restrict its power or speeds or anything like that. So that if a person couldnt afford a bike but had friend or family, who have a bike that is not good for beginners, can adjust the bike for a new rider to use.

·
Autobots! Roll Out!
2,061 Posts
Your right hand :). Sorry, nothing else that I know of. Don't unplug spark plug wires or anything like that, it'll make the bike run like shit.

·
Registered
33 Posts
They should make some sort of restrictor plate for bikes, that way the companies can sell there 600s as beginner bikes. They make them for racecars (nascar) so why not for bikes? I am not a mechanic or anything, but seems like something could be made that could be removed after the owner gets the basics down. What about you custom guys, there could be a huge market for something like this. It would greatly increase a beginners choices and confidence in getting a new bike.

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
i know on my zx7 i could set the needles a bit rich and you would get a major flat spot from 6-7k rpm, and after that you'd better be holding on.

that kept me from getting in hot water a few times when I had less experience.

·
Mexican Hard Shell Taco
5,894 Posts
:spank

Bad idea...

Even with a restrictor plate the bike will go faster than what a newbie can handle, it will just take it more time.

Not to mention that power is not the only factor that makes a bike a bad newbie bike, it is almost everything, from riding position, geometry, brakes, etc.

The FACT is, you can buy a cheap used Nighthawk 250, Ninja 250, EX500, GS500, ride it a season and then upgrade to a better bike.

That is if you are really interested in riding, real riding. If you are in only for the bling/looks, you shouldn't be here at all.