Sport Bikes banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I seen that we have a few lawyers on here and I had a question. My wife was in a car accident a couple of months ago. A collage girl ran a stop sign and T-boned my wife. The car was totaled, she missed two weeks of work and lots of medical bills. It comes to about $4,000 in expenses. Their lawyer offered us only $1,500 and their insurence claims that my wife was 25% at fault so they will only pay %75 of costs.

My question is this......how can they say my wife is %25 at fault when the other girl ran a stop sign? There were many witnesses, the girl admitted running it, and it is even on the police report that she said "I wasn't paying attention."

I am sure they are just trying to pay the least amount of $ but what the hell?

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
Don't let these insurance companies dick you around. I'm not a lawyer but I've got a couple in the family who have helped me out in the past. Insurance companies will always give you a lowball offer at first, basically find a nice way to say "blow me" and tell them you will be contacting your lawyer, normally they will try to keep you on the phone at this point. Just explain every bill, save all paperwork, and get what you deserve, full repayment. Hell, I had a sprained wrist from an accident and I argued my way up to $2500 w/ compensation for days of work missed. Also, there is no such thing as 75/25 fault accident, there are no-fault accidents and there are at-fault accidents, there is no gray area, especially in a situation where someone runs a stop sign.

·
Registered
13,267 Posts