Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought me a Kawasaki Ninja 500. I really love the bike, but I am completely new to sportsbikes so I have a question to ask. This bike has plenty of power for what I want, but I noticed that when I get on the freeway and get it up to 65mph to run along with traffic, in highest gear the tachometer is reading about 5,500 rpm. Now I know that it is not in the red until much much higher than that, but if I were to cruise on the interstate for like an hour at that speed and rpms, will it put a lot of stress on the engine over time or is it made to handle that? I realize that it has to be properly broken in first, but my question is after properly breaking the bike in and riding it a lot at that power setting. A few guys I talked to said that that is completely normal rpm to run the bike at and it would not put very much stress on the engine at all but would only burn gas a little quicker. Is this pretty much right? I don't want to sound stupid but I know nothing about these bikes and I sure don't want to harm the engine over time. Any input would be great! Thanks!

·
I hate thieves!!!
1,229 Posts
First, let me say congrats on the bike. My first street bike was a 500 and i loved it. It's a great bike, comfortable, and it has plenty of power for what you need.

As for the RPM's, 5500 is fine. I used to cruise around anywhere between 5000-7000. As a rule, bikes rev higher then cars do. If your not used to it, you might be thrown off by it, but no worries, the bike will be fine. :D

·
old member
13,079 Posts
As was said before, 5500 is nothing. Just try to vary the revs especially during break in. It's not a good idea to run for hours at the same engine speed.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Congrats man, I'm thinking about making the 500R my first bike as well. Post some pics if you can. It's good to see that you didn't go overboard and start with a 1000cc bike.

·
Mexican Hard Shell Taco