Sport Bikes banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was shown this website that will sell you the dealership pricing vs msrp so that you can get your bike at the lowest price. I think that the website is full of crap IMO. The website is http://www.cyclebuy.com/suz_mc.htm#2006 Suzuki Street

Someone please tell me how the dealership is going to get a profit if you go there willing to pay what THEY paid for it? Im new at this and everything but this has me really DUMBFOUNDED! :feedback

·
51 times World Champions
3,861 Posts
WhoUtinks_Wifey said:
I was shown this website that will sell you the dealership pricing vs msrp so that you can get your bike at the lowest price. I think that the website is full of crap IMO. The website is http://www.cyclebuy.com/suz_mc.htm#2006 Suzuki Street

Someone please tell me how the dealership is going to get a profit if you go there willing to pay what THEY paid for it? Im new at this and everything but this has me really DUMBFOUNDED! :feedback
You won't necessarily get it at dealer invoice. The idea is that you're in a better position to negotiate a deal when you know where the dealer stands. When the dealer can't BS you about his "investment" in the vehicle, you know when he's jerking you around.

As for just what the dealer makes on a sale, there's more to it than just the invoice and MSRP prices. While I'm unsure how the motorcycle manufacturers handle it specifically, I doubt it's much different from the automakers. In the car business they have what's called "holdback". Basically, if a maker has a 3% holdback, the dealer get's paid 3% of the MSRP by the maker for every vehicle sold, irrespective of the price the vehicle was sold at. Then you've got volume bonuses, finance bonuses, etc, etc, etc........

:cheers

·
old member
13,079 Posts