Sport Bikes banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I am new around here, in fact I'm new to everything I'm about to dive into. Aside from riding dirt bikes as a kid and screwing around on my little brother's mini bike as a young adult I am as green as they come.

That being said, today I become the owner of a 2007 Hyosung GT250R. I was between this bike and a friends Suzuki GS500e, but he was asking WAY too much, especially considering this is going to be a project.

That brings me to my next point. Unlike many other sport bikes out there, there really doesn't seem to be a big market for customizing these bikes. Not sure if that's because it's a young company or because it's considered a learning bike but in any event I will be transforming this bike over the next months/years and I would like to share it with you all.

I have done some custom work on cars and trucks in the past but am somewhat of a noob in that regard as well. So if it's ok with you all I will likely be asking a lot of stupid questions and also gathering a lot of opinions. My goal is to take a stock sport bike and strip it naked and give it somewhat of a cafe/fighter look but maybe doing some things that haven't been done yet.

The pictures below are of my bike as is, and ideally the direction I'd like to take it. I will post pictures as regularly as I can, talk to you guys soon!

Attachments

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
So I'm back with my first set of questions. Unfortunately I have had the flu since buying th bike and haven't had a chance to take it apart yet, so no pictures thus far.

How difficult do you think it will be to mount the gauges on the bike once I remove the front plastics?

Has anyone shortened their forks? I plan on putting taller tire on the front and shortening the fork to compensate for the added height. The goal is to eliminate the "chopper" look of the front end that you get without the fairings on.