Sport Bikes banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went for a little ride Monday….
It is not too often that I get to ride on a national level track for a track day. I’ve never done it before. Anyway some local guys arranged a track day at PPIR (Pikes Peak International Raceway) in Fountain Colorado. The same track the AMA has their race at. This was the most official track day I’ve ever been to. They did it right, with insurance coverage, a medical crew and even Mercedes as a sponsor, providing lunch.
Loaded up my ZX6rr and my son’s CRF450 and headed south to Fountain. I got there around 7:30 and there was already a line of 10-12 people waiting to get in. We actually got to park in the infield of the track and they opened the garages for us. Way cool to have garage space just like the pros.
After everyone showed they locked the gate so no one could just show up off the street and for the rest of the day we had out own private, catered track day. I was more than a bit intimidated by this track. Banked corners, big cement walls all around, and 10 -15 really fast riders to make me look incredibly slow. So suffering from “plastiphobia” (the fear of falling down and busting up the expensive plastic on your bike.) I took the boy’s Motard out for the first session to scope out the track.
First off this track is huge compared to what I have ridden before. Not huge in length, but in width. You could probably ride 6 or 8 wide down the front straight with room to spare. That was cool having that much space. The un-cool part for me was coming out of turn 2 from the flat infield corner down low that the bike course runs on to accelerating up onto the banking of the back straight and the bike wants to push toward the wall and your doing around 100. That took some getting used to. I didn’t get totally comfortable with that part all day.