Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting so hopefully this is the correct place to post. I have an 06 zx14 that has been sitting in shed for the last month or two because its been too cold to ride. I took it out and it fired right up and I let it warm up and then cut it off. When I tried to restart it it just made a clicking sound like the battery was dead. After charging the battery for a while it did the same thing, so I bought a new battery and it was still doing the same thing like it was dead. Then I smelled gas and looked under the bike only to find gas dripping heavily from my headers, I then checked the oil level through the little glass and it was filled completely up, so when I drained the oil there was a ton of gas in the oil pan too! What is going on why would gas be in my oil, and does the 14 have some kind of safety feature that wouldn't let it start or even turn over to prevent further damage? PLEASE HELP

·
Premium Member
2,435 Posts
I wouldn't say your fucked, or at least not yet. Sounds like your cylinders were flooded with gas and it leaked down. Gas in the oil occurs when the cylinders are flooded and gas leaks down, the engine is running extremely rich for long periods of time, or your rings are bad. There is always some gas that gets by the rings, especially when the engine is cold.