Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
:)
Hello everyone,
I am a 35 years old soon-to-be rider (provided that I get my permit this weekend) living in Transylvania...I never rode before, except for the riding school I attended this month, on a 125cc beaten up Yamaha. The "school" actually consists of some basic exercises required to pass the exam, so nothing more then a little slalom, some "figure of 8s", obstacle evasions and emergency braking. I manage it all rather well, no dropping the bike (knock on wood).
Also, I have been driving with a stick and clutch for the last 16 years, for about 100.000 miles and I had my share of near calls on the road, enough that I know exactly what surprises the road can offer you at any given moment. I drive well, rather sporty yet a bit conservative and paranoid about what can be found behind the blind corner...
Now, all this talk leads to my question: Should I buy a Suzuki SV650 as my first bike? I know this was asked before and I read most of the answers, yet since those questions came from young people I would kindly ask of you to answer me considering my age, background and experience...would those matter on an SV or would I just squeeze that twitchy throttle by mistake and spill myself?

Thank you for your patience,
Sergiu

PS I am also 5'9'' so height might be an issue too...

·
Registered
2,557 Posts
That is sort of the outer limit of beginner bikes IMO. It's a much better idea than a 600, that's for sure.

·
Registered
4,688 Posts
First of all, welcome to the board.

I know this was asked before and I read most of the answers, yet since those questions came from young people I would kindly ask of you to answer me considering my age, background and experience
I'd say an SV650 is a decent choice for a first bike, if at the top of the range as others said. Not being an I4 supersport is definitely good.