Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
SBN Rookie ;-)
686 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey people i need some help with finishing off my gear.

I need boots and pants. I want them because im starting to push harder on a much faster bike, plus i never get off the thing, no longer have the car. I really dont want to fuck up my legs/ankles/feet etc etc.

If possible, id really like something that would go over my work pants (suit pants) i looked at some draggin jeans, they look alright for that because they're not as tight as leathers, and i can also wear them around at uni.

Any opinions on draggin jeans? If not, a sensible alternative. The very best in leather is no alternative because im a student and i have to pay for the shit myself. :)

·
old member
13,079 Posts
Good plan to get pants and boots. Your lower body shreds on the cheese grater we call the road just as well as your upper body. Get boots that come well up over your ankle. Preferably Sidi or A* style riding boots. The higher the better.

I have a pair of Draggin jeans and think they're great for what they do. They will provide some abrasion resistance, but have no armor for impacts. I don't think you'd have much luck wearing them over regular clothes, though, as they tend to run tight (at least on me :) ). You being more local to the source, there may be some models available to you that we don't get here. BTW, I found their customer service to be great (Grant).

If you're looking for something to go over regular/suit clothes, I'd look at some sort of textile pants. Those also usually come with armor. The best over-suit is probably Aerostich, but that may not fit your budget. You didn't mention what type of jacket you have, but ideally the jacket and pants should zip together at least in the back. This will help prevent them from separating and exposing skin as you slide down the road. A good tailor can put in a zipper if the brands don't match.