Sport Bikes banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work for a body shop and have access to sandblasting , powder coating, paint booths, and all the crap needed to mod my bike a 2007 ninja 500. however im a web designer and have 0 mechanic skills, 0 painter skills. I however can learn fast and use you tube vids. However im seeing alot of conflicting things. talking about etching primers and sandpaper.

I was just going to sand blast the rim, put tire on but NOT set the bead, cover tire with tape and paint.
As I just ordered 2 tires and 2 break pads for the front and rear tire and I thought what better time to paint.
What would be the sequence / correct method involving painting a rim?

·
Registered
2,299 Posts
step one. stand up
step two. look around
step three. see the guy with the weird colored coveralls?
good, ask him to help you.

·
Registered
2,299 Posts
ok, some actual advice.

if you have no exsperiance painting at all, don't start on something you want to look good.

if you have access to a gun, go buy some really cheep paint. if you do not have access to a gun go buy some cheep rattle cans.

practice with those until you can get paint on something without drips, runs, missed spots, ect. (practice on stuff you do not care about looking good).

now choose what paint you want to use, this will determine what process you take for preparing the wheel.

No matter what paint you use, how good the final product looks will largely depend upon how clean you can get the metal.

rims do not have large gently curved surfaces like a car body panel, so a rim is much more forgiving than they are about subtle mistakes and is a good choice for a first project. Something else that can help cover up small mistakes is to use a high gloss black. it doesn't show tiny flaws as easily as other colors.

·
Registered
576 Posts
+1 to what jeffo said.

here's what i did.