Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
what's up bitches
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
how dangerous is an outside tire plug for the rear tire on a bike? you guys know i've been repairing other things.. and I finally got the money to get everything in. I got front rotors, front brake pads, chain and both sprockets. Gonna install them sometime next week. The rear tire has good thread (kind of worn but not all the way) but it has an outside plug. I rode it a couple times and the seller rode it to work when he needed that bike. I don't race or go on canyon cause i'm just learning.. and I just do a lot of street riding at speed limit.

Is the outside plug really dangerous? Or should i take it to the dealer and do something about it? I was gonna get a brand new tire but I don't have the money right now. I'm currently saving for my helmet and jacket. And then gloves. :D Thanks

-david

·
what R you lookin' at?
5,313 Posts
bad......you don't necesarily have to goto the dealership, just find a moto shop that repiars tires from the inside......

or better, replace it........

·
F-You and Yourspace!
799 Posts
Don't use a do-it-yourself plug. They're not made to withstand the kind of temperature generated by performance tires. They're just made to get you to a shop to have it replaced.

·
TowTrucks Suck!!!
159 Posts
Anti-Hero said:
Don't use a do-it-yourself plug. They're not made to withstand the kind of temperature generated by performance tires. They're just made to get you to a shop to have it replaced.