Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,
Greg from Ca here...I have been riding a 01 yamaha fz1 for 4 years now. Well, as fate would have it, this was it's last year. Truck over double yellow line in a hair pin down-hill turn made sure of that. It's a TOTAL Jim!... $7,500.00 to repair a bike that was only worth $6,000.00? I do not think so.

So here I sit with a law-suit and no bike. However i did get $5860.00 for my FZ1. I miss her :( Anyhow.... My question is this....Answer if you can, or if your riding style is the same as mine. I enjoy Twisties, Open ROAD, Hills, weekend rides mostly. I do not ride it to work much, only 7 miles to and from my job, so i take the cage.I am not interested in "KICKING ASS" on the roads.. What I wish to get is a bike that 1: Will OPEN up on the flat open roads. 2: Will handle the Twisties to a degree of Peg Eating, but i don't drag puck much. 3: A bike that will last me 5-8 years with not alot of maint' issues. 4: A bike i can "Mod-Up" with out breaking the bank, i am so not rich. 5: Sit UP riding, not into the Bent Over New back style....

I enjoy riding, This accident has "tried to take my passion away" (EDIT). I can not see my future without a bike. The wife has other ideas, like..take up basket weaving, kite flying? WTH woman! However, the FZ1 was alot of bike for the type of riding that I did and do, and I really do not wish to spend $8,599.00 + the $3k in mods I had on my old fz1.

Will the FZ6 fill my old FZ1's Shoes? I do not care about "HorsePower", or how "FAST" I can go... I care about RIDING and having a GOOD TIME doing so, on a bike I can rely on. I miss my FZ1, She was a good Ride...But it is time to Move on....and get back in the saddle once my "Broken Collar Bone" heals.
Thanks Guys,
Sorry for the Long Winded Question. :cheers

Greg "Coderz"
X-Fz1 Owner

·
You will be missed Shawn
6,508 Posts