Sport Bikes banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i been hearing from a lot of people, the 250 is best to start for a beginning rider, but the 500 i hear is a good starter bike as well...wtf?? which do i go with? i plan to pay for the bike in full when i buy it so i was lookin at the 250...but i know i will like the 500 more ...i need some help. Any sugguestions? Also i have very little riding experience, i have only been on one bike, and thats a cbr 600 and that was just to rev and to say i sat on one =). That was my friends though and thats his first bike. So i have no clue which one i should pick taking into consideration my cash flow and lack of skills. I also dont want to be really limited with the 250. Please help !!

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
oh yes and i have scheduled my MSF class here in cali! its a steep 150 for 16+ but at 30+ its 180...ouch. But anyway that will be my riding experience once I finish the class and then i will purchase my bike...

·
Registered
3,811 Posts
Get the 250 to learn on. I think you're probably going to want to upgrade to a b***** badder supersport like your buddy's eventually whether you get the 250 or the 500, so with this in mind get the one that is most forgiving for the first couple of years of riding. Oh and buy the bike used, spend lots of $$ on riding gear.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
after all i seen and heard i aint goin near a 600, 500 is pushin it for me but i still cant decide between 250/500...anyone else got some words of wisdom for an aspiring rider?

·
Registered
968 Posts
I rode a 250r for about six months (borrowed) before picking up a '91 EX500. I think I'm a better rider for it. The 250 or the 500 hold their value pretty well. Find one used either way you go.

·
Registered
288 Posts