Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not five minutes into my ride, a truck turning left hit me. Overall, it wasn't too bad but here's my story.

Some background. This was my first bike, 07 GSX-R600. I started riding in January of last year, so I only have over a year of experience and 13.5k mi.

The forecasted blizzard yesterday in Colorado turned out to be a fluke of just 4 in. of snow. Today, it was around 32 degrees and the roads were dry and snow-free, so I decided to go on a ride - like I do every ridable day. I had on all my gear: helmet, jacket, a second jacket, gloves and liner, full race boots, knee guards, & kelvar jeans. I then headed out onto the main road next to my neighborhood.

I reached this intersection and was hit by a trucking making a left turn.

I live near this intersection, so I know never to make a left turn here because of the non-stop traffic. You really have to wait a long time for the right-of-way. So, I was heading east and was focusing on another car about to make a left turn into the shopping center (like the white car in the photo). That car stopped after noticing me. Suddenly, another left-hand turner, the truck coming out of the shopping center made his left turn. This I was not expecting because his right-of-way was after me and the first left-hand turner. I didn't even look that way.

Well, he came out to the intersection and stopped on my lane. I braked but was not able to stop in time; the right-front of my bike hit his bumper, and I dropped the bike on the left side. During my emergency braking, I did lock up the rear - man, that didn't take much. I don't know if it was me, but I felt there was a little gravel on the road during my stop. Also, it didn't feel like I used enough front brakes (had always put off my e-braking practice).

Here's a photo of my zip-tie.