Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm looking at getting a 96 yamaha seca 2. i noticed that the fairing doesn't cover as much of the bike as some of the better looking ones do. i'm just getting into bikes so sorry if im asking a retarded question.

how do i get this bike:

to look more like this bike:

here's the sale ad for the bike i'm looking at:
http://www.stlsr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55635

thanks in advance for your help.

·
Sport Tourer
1,729 Posts
Good luck. Maybe somebody's modded FZR fairings to fit the SECA II or something, but other than that, you may be out of luck.

Tell us what you find so future generations may benefit from your knowledge!

·
Registered
488 Posts
he's a newbie, no f2 for you.. :neener .. I'm not so sure you can unless you wanna spend money on custom fairings, but as a newbie i wouldnt reccomend it just in case..

·
Registered
498 Posts
The Seca II is air-cooled. It will not like being shod under fairings. Besides, there are no mounts for them and it was never intended to be a faired bike. Don't be concerned with aesthetics for a first bike. If you drop it, you'll be glad you didn't have fairings!

Get the Seca II, ride it for a year or two then get the plastic covered machine.

·
Registered
966 Posts
Meh2u said:
Why the hell would you do that? Go buy an F2 if you want an F2.
For the same reason you wanted to do this to your bike "[91 F2 (MXD Cage -1 +12)]".......why the hell did you want to do this...becuase you wanted to...now give the man some good info and stop being :gay

·
Registered
528 Posts
You don't want fairings since your new to bikes and plastic don't take too well to being dropped on a bike. I'm guessing you have no idea how much fairings cost. Just pulled these prices off of my local dealerships website for my bike as an example:
Right Upper Cowl - $445.56
Left Upper Cowl - $445.56
Front Center Cowl - $129.73
Right Lower Cowl - $602.45
Left Lower Cowl - $602.45