Sport Bikes banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Complete newbie here, trying to follow all the advice here and get a Gixxer as my first bike :neener

Just kidding. (thought it'd be funny from all the posts today) I've been watching these boards for quite some time, and I've gathered quite a bit of info - so I'm looking for a 250.

Unfortunately, in my area (about 100 mile radius), I cannot seem to find any used 250's. But, I've found quite a few used 500's for sale - and most in the $3000 range, which is the price for a brand new 250. So my dilemma is this - do I buy a new 250, or a used 500?

I've read that buying new should be avoided for newbies, and I'm not worried about the costs, so its just a matter of getting something.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,215 Posts
I would recommend a used 500 if you can find one in good shape at a fair price. Your going to drop the bike and you will want to cry when you drop your brand new bike. A 500 is still a beginner friendly bike.

·
Registered
625 Posts
The season hasn't even started for people in northern climates. Bikes will be flying left and right on the used market very shortly. If you are convinced that one or the other is the better bike for you, try to hold out and purchase that one at a price that works.

But, yes the ex500 is a member of the beginner-sporty-bike triumvirate along with the ex250 and gs500.

·
Registered
514 Posts
It's a toss up. If you're spending the same amount, it'll hurt no matter which bike you drop. Check with the dealership and see what kind of warrenty you get, what's covered, if they throw in any services, etc. Check the resale on the 250's (I'm too lazy to do it:neener ) and figure if it's worth the money for you. Maybe wait a little longer and see if a used one comes up, or expand your search. Maybe a longer drive to pick it up would be worth it if you found a bike you like.

·
Not always on two
2,727 Posts
perfect.