Sport Bikes banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I'm new to this board and the bike world, I just bought a ninja 500 and am fairly strapped for cash, can you guys give me suggestions on gear and ways to save some money on it... like do I have to buy riding pants or would jeans work... cheap but good jackets (leather?, mesh?). Like I said I'm a newb and don't know much. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
29 Posts
I wear a mesh jacket in the summer with jeans, a lid, and gloves. However, I just commute to work and back. However, you cant go wrong with leathers, they save lives!

I myself, would buy used stuff because of cost. Or you can try www.motorcyclecloseouts.com

eBay is also a good place to shop for gear.
Since you are new to all this, you may want to go to a dealer and test fit all of your gear first. try on jackets, leather and mesh, helmets, and the right glove size. You should be able to find a good jacket, lid, and gloves for under $400 used.

Hope that helps.

Remember its better to be safe than sorry when it comes to gear, so if you are unsure, ask...

·
Registered
1,617 Posts
Man you've gotta call your rents or pawn some useless shit around the house don't skimp on gear!! DO NOT buy a used helmet! Go to a bike shop and try on diffrent brands cuse even though there the same size they will fit diffrently. (copy from other thread)

·
old member
13,079 Posts
If you're in Texas, mesh gear would probably be good and not too expensive. If it's colder out, you can put a windbreaker over it. In addition to a helmet, good leather gloves are a must as are sturdy leather boots that cover your ankles.

Check
www.newenough.com
for bargains in the close-out section.

www.helmetharbor.com is a great place for helmets, but you need to know what fits first.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Casket Crew said: