Sport Bikes banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a used 2000 Ninja 500 which didn't have the owner's manual. Anyhow, I am completely new to bikes. I was wondering if anyone can explain the reserve tank to me. Basically, how to get the bike to revert to that and when?

Also, since there is no fuel guage, how do you know when you need to refuel?

Thanks in advance!

·
how bout dem deadskins
3,235 Posts
damn no fuel gauge sux.. so you'll have to manuall check it.. & the reserve tank i believe has an on/off switch so when your assed on gas

·
Registered
3,180 Posts
First off, you can order a replacement owner's manual from Kawasaki, HERE

Doesn't the Ninja 500 have a low fuel light? Either way, just use your trip odometer to keep track of miles traveled since last fill-up. The bike has a 4.8 gallon tank - I'd guess the reserve is about gallon.

So figure you have 3.8 gallons you can use before needing to switch to reserve. You ought to get around 55mpg with that bike (my wife averaged around 60 with her Vulcan 500, which has the same motor). So by around 200 miles, you should be looking for a gas station and/or switching to reserve.

The reserve is a little lever that you turn down under the gastank on the left side of the bike.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys! Another question...when filling up the tank, does the reserve get filled automatically too? For example, if 1 gallon of the 4.8 gallon tank is for reserve, when I fill up a complely empty tank, does the first gallon automatically go to the reserve, or would I have to flip a switch or something to fill the reserve separately?

·
Registered
3,180 Posts