Sport Bikes banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So! I've been researching for days on end, especially looking through this forums as I wish to begin riding myself. And as I learned that all MSF courses require you to have a certain amount of gear(not that you shouldn't have gear already if you want to ride), I've been narrowing down my selections. I've generally have everything set to what I want except for the helmet. I can't quite seem to decide on which helmet to buy and was hoping, the more experienced people at SBN would help me. :)

Helmet:
Icon Airmada Rubatone Helmet
OR
Scorpion EXO 500

Jacket:
Scorpion Tornado Jacket

Gloves:
REV'IT Monster Gloves

Boots:
Teknic Striker Boots

A bit more information would be that, I plan to acquire the Kawasaki 250, possibly the 300 if I'm lucky ;D Also, the reason for choosing such gear is that I'm a full-time college student and acquiring much more reliable gear (such as leather jacket) is something that won't be possible for awhile.

Well I hope to hear some good inputs from you guys that will help me finalize and quickly purchase my gear so I can sign up for MSF courses! Thanks!

·
Registered
15,272 Posts
Welcome. Okay, gear;

Dedicated motorcycle gear is way better than regular clothing/boots/etc. What you actually will wear is way better than what sits at home unused. You will likely end up with many pieces of gear as you learn what works, and for different climates/jobs

Leather > textile > mesh > non riding gear

New riders tend to gravitate toward "practical" gear and avoid "race" gear, but race gear is far more protective. (I even did it when I got back into riding)

Look for closeouts - you can get some top notch gear for huge discounts. www.sportbiketrackgear.com, Motorcycle Helmets, Motorcycle Jackets, Motorcycle Gear at Competition Accessories, www,newenough.com are a few good places to look

To address your specific choices: