Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Jordan I'm new to riding motorcycles minus a few dirt bikes, I currently own a 2003 Kawasaki ninja 750r with a Jardine exhaust and 14k miles, it's my first bike and well, it's quite intimidating, I'm a taller guy so I fit on it well, and it is comfortable, and am currently registered for my msf saftey courses, but i would also appreciate some tips to keep my head on top of the game, and overall just be safe. I only work 4 miles from home and work swing shift, so there is little traffic but it is at night, so feel free to toss some tips or advice my way, I'm eager to learn! Thanks!

·
Registered
272 Posts
Always pay attention to what other drivers around you are doing and try to predict their movements. If you do this you will greatly reduce the risk of having to do a panic stop or maneuver, which on a sportbike can get you in a heap of trouble real quick.

·
Premium Member
45,772 Posts
One great way to start mastering your street skills is to read about them. You'll be surprised at how much you can absorb, and have it come back to you when you need it the most. Here are some great books for beginner riders, and a refresher for experienced riders:

Happy reading!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Get a turbo busa...

/thread
Nothing easier to hone your skills on. He'd outgrow the 250 after 20 minutes of parking lot riding. Plus, he won't be able to pick up the chicks on a girls bike like the Ninja 250... :duh2

(Sarcasm)

·
Live to ride
12,017 Posts
Sell the bike, terrible first bike.

·
Registered
6,884 Posts
Except he doesn't have a ninja 250.

Honestly, you should consider stabling the 750 (ZX-7R???) until you get more proficient on a smaller displacement bike, such as a GS500, or SV650 (since you do have some dirt biking experience, although it is different).