Sport Bikes banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey SBN I’m a new rider. Been riding/racing dirt bikes for years, all sorts of atv’s and cars my whole life but never owned a street bike. I bought a yellow and black CBR600F4i. I’ve found in my first week of riding that the throttle is a lot more touchy and they have crazy acceleration. I know most basic things mechanically, I’m a certified car mechanic so that stuff is easy for me just wondering what maintenance I should check up on since I just bought it. Also looking for any advice on riding or anything in general is appreciated. Riding in Seattle, Washington! Thanks!

·
Registered
21 Posts
How many miles on the bike?
What aftermarket parts does it have installed?

Find and purchase/download the service manual!

Maintenance wise I would change all fluids.
Brake front and rear, coolant, engine oil, clutch (if it's hydrolic)
Make sure all the caliper pistons are working smooth and free.
Check tire date, don't go by looks as age and number of heat cycles kill tires not wear.
Check fuel tank for debri/rust
Spark plugs and/or valve shim clearance if miles dictate.
Air filter
Shock oil and or seals. Now would be a good time to set sag and see if you need the forks/shock resprung for your weight.
Sprocket wear and chain wear/stretch
Grease suspension, swingarm, steering head bearings. Also check play in steering head bearings
Check throttle and clutch cable for signs of wear and replace if necessary
Test battery voltage both resting and during start. Replace if low at either
Set chain slack, sprocket alignment, and tire pressure and check religiously
Chain should be cleaned every 500 miles or so, less if you ride in dirty, dusty or wet conditions
Control ergonomics - adjust your clutch lever and front brake lever so when your arms, wrist, and hands are in a straight line in your normal riding position your fingers are also on that straight line when reaching for either lever