Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I've been riding since I was about 10 years old but have been bikeless for about the last 12 years (what we let wives do to us!) . I'm 47 now and plan to purchase a bike this week. I have narrowed my choices down to the Yamaha FZ6 (I just can't get the looks of this machine out of my mind - it's gorgeous!) and the Suzuki V-Strom DL650.

I don't think I'm going to be able to resist the FZ6. Am I going to love this thing as much as I think? I keep reading about the weakness of this machine in the low to mid-range. Is this going to be that much of an issue?

It's nice to see an active community of users here, and I look forward to popping in from time to time.

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
I'm not sure what bikes you have rode before but I dont think the lack of low end will be a problem. Just slip the clutch a little.:) Coming from a 225 this bike feels like a toque monster to me below 7k. :lol

·
Registered
944 Posts
Yea, I've been hearing this nasty rumor about the "lack of bottom end" :neener .......Honestly this bike feels a whole lot torquer then the other SS bikes ive riden, All of 3 :lol (CBR f3, older r6). Also a gsxr 600 but all i remember is hoping i wouldn't die.

You'll notice a drop in torque coming off a TLR or S, big difference from a litter I4 machine as well. But thats apples and kiwi. Try to ride one thats broke in, That will tell you better then any of us.....Of course then you'll have to buy one :)

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
My previous ride was a Honda VT 500 C (Shadow) from the mid-80s. My gut is telling me that this is going to be quite a different experience. I excited yet won't be stupid. I'll spend adequate time getting to know this new machine.

And yes, I'll be after the BLUE one :)

I've seen tons of reviews about the SV650-S and the DL650 VStrom from Suzuki but they just don't give me the same feeling when I look at them.