Sport Bikes banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

So I am in the middle of my MSF course and getting my M1 endorsement and collecting my gear. I have been researching pretty extensively on about what to do for a first bike, but I still have some questions. I have unequivocally ruled out the super sport class as I have no motorcycle experience. I know they can be fun but when I'm being honest with myself I am not ready for a 636 or R6 so that leaves me with pretty much with the 300 or 650R.

From what I've read I love the fact that Kawasaki upgraded the 250 and the bike looks all around great. About 10 more HP still great torque, etc. I like the fact that it is still considered a starter bike and that they have switched from carb to fuel injection. Not completely sold on the slipper clutch yet but I've heard that it has a nice, even power band from 4-10 thousand RPM which I think will be really great for me as a beginner. Plus I'm a fan of the upright riding position as I will be using it mostly for commuting to school.

Problem is that I'm 6'3" only about 200 lbs though. I saw this video here. . . Ninja 250r - The Ultimate Beginners Motorcycle - YouTube

The guy in there is about my height and he looks a little uncomfortable on the bike, although it is a 250. I've thought about a 650 but I'm not really interested in spending the extra cash for a slight boost in HP and power that I'm not really ready to use. I would like to get really comfortable on this bike for a year or so and then move up to a 636 or possibly an R6. I'm just still slightly worried about a 300 being a little too small, not in the power department, but rather physically. Does anyone know of the size difference between the 250/300 and 650 bikes or have any advice on the subject? I'm all ears and thanks in advance.

·
After Me Lucky Charms
5,281 Posts
Honda offers a CBR500R and Kawasaki also has the Ninja 500 (but it's ugly).

·
Registered