Sport Bikes banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I pulled the tr***** on a new 2013 Ninja 300 SE ABS, got a solid deal, about $1000 off msrp including Kawasaki's mega cash rebate.

Anyway, since the bike is brand new I have a few concerns about maintenance from now until I will actually be able to ride it (end of April). The bike will be stored in my garage which is poorly insulated, meaning the temp will be quite cold. Preferably I would like to start it every week or so like my dad does with his bike. Is this acceptable for a brand new motor that has yet to be broken in? Should I just let it sit in the cold until April? Or is there something else I should be doing to ensure the bike is in good condition come April?

Btw I am completely new to this, please excuse any idiocy I may have spewed out.

·
Registered
3,877 Posts
Welcome to the jungle.

Don't bother starting it if you're not riding it. Just fill the tank all the way to the top, add some Stabil, if so inclined. If you want throw it on a battery tender, too.

·
Registered
729 Posts
Why not wait until April to take delivery? That way your warranty clock won't start until you're actually able to ride it. The dealer won't add fluids and prep the bike until you're ready to receive it.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Why not wait until April to take delivery? That way your warranty clock won't start until you're actually able to ride it. The dealer won't add fluids and prep the bike until you're ready to receive it.
I thought about this but come on, I don't want to wait 3 agonizing months before I even get to look at it.

·
Registered
729 Posts
I thought about this but come on, I don't want to wait 3 agonizing months before I even get to look at it.
Yeah, but look at it is ALL you'll be able to do anyway. Start your life as a bike owner with a mature, logical decision.

·
Registered
1,140 Posts