Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have a '09 SV650SF, for which I am desiring more power and better suspension, and have decided its time to move up. I have been riding the SV for the past 2 years and have put around 10k miles on it. I have owned a FZR 600 before that and put 16,xxx miles in three years.

I am trying to decide whether to buy a 2008 CBR600RR for around $5600 or go for alittle older and cheaper 600 as I intend to do some track days. I do not make a ton of money and still in the beginning stage of my computer career. I would be doing but maybe 1-3 track days next year. I am in th I realize I need to do track days, as my skills are not where I would like them to be. I am not trying to race, only improve my skill and ability. I would not like to crash a more expensive bike and have it depreciate more than a cheaper bike, I would use sliders handlebars/swing arm/frame.

- Would a cheaper bike be better then upgrade a year or two to a liter bike or better street bike? Or spend the money on the newer '08.

·
Mexican Hard Shell Taco
5,883 Posts
Get the 07-12 600RR. Bikes depreciate, new parts don't, so it will be just as expensive to wreck, say a '04 600RR, than a 08. The newer bike is more common, that means you'll have an easier time finding parts for it on e-bay from wreckers, that will make it cheaper to put back on two wheels than the older bike.

Start doing your trackdays and save for some track fairings, frame sliders and case protectors. You won't be pushing it that hard in the beginning.

·
King of the Hopeless
1,132 Posts