Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I need some help/opinions here. I hope I posted this in the right forum, so if not, my apologies. Anyways, I want to get a bike next spring, but I've got a problem. Parents. I'm a college student and still live at home, so it's kind a "our house, our rules". They're not real strict, so it's more of a respect thing. I've ridden motocross for several years, but tracks seem to be getting harder to find and it seems you have to travel two hours to get to one. They know I can ride, they are more worried about other drivers. Anyways, my point is, what is a good way to ease their mind about street bikes. Thanks for the help everyone!

·
Gonna go far on my GSX-R!
2,238 Posts
For me a lot of it was having friends who ride and my parents felt better that I would learn how to ride from them because they were responsible and would watch out for me. My parents originally said that I wouldnt get a bike until after college and the biggest reason I was able to get a bike was because Ive got some health problems and the doctors thought I had cancer so it looked like I wouldnt make it until after college. So getting a bike was now or never and it turns out I dont have cancer and I got a bike out of the scare. So that worked for me, not that that helps you out at all but thats my story

·
Registered
586 Posts
simple... you're 23.

j/k, i know exactly how the respect part goes man. i think if you explain things like gear, different bikes, and things like that so you can EDUCATE them and they can gain understanding, that will go a really long way.

ignorance can be bliss, but it also leads to unncessary fears as well. experience is key.

·
Head Rooster
3,438 Posts