Sport Bikes banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. New to this forum but not to bikes. I've been riding for probably 11 years on real motorcycles and dirt bikes since I was a kid but I'm having some trouble picking a new bike.

Basically I haven't owned a sportbike in a few years. My first sporty bike was a 93 Suzuki GSF400F Bandit. I still miss that bike. Since then I've owned some cruisers, bobbers and I've ridden some friends bikes like a mid 90s CBR900RR and recently an '01 R6.

I live in Idaho about 30 miles north of Boise in the mountains and it is prime riding territory. Most of the roads are 55-65mph and have really nice scenery, clean well maintained roads and plenty of bends to play with. I also ride 80 miles round trip 2-3 times a week to rehearse with my band. This ride includes leaving my small town, hitting a 27 mile highway of 65mph the entire way and then riding a 2 lane back road that is 30-40mph. Traffic is light. I avoid driving the main roads in Boise even in my car, lots of traffic and lots of idiots.

So I want a bike that I can ride to and from practice on the regular. Something to have fun on. Handling is my biggest concern with power being second. Something light and fun but would like to be able to keep up with my buddies R6 and haul the occasional passenger (my gf). I'm not looking to blow a lot of money either. I'm selling my convertible Mustang because gas mileage is killing me on my band practice commute. After I pay some other stuff I need (new guitar) I'll have around $2000 or so to spend on a bike. That might not sound like much but there are some nice deals to be had around here. I'm 6ft and 210lbs.

Right now I'm looking at:

1995 Honda CBR600F3 - Has a broken tach and highish miles (32k) for $1900 but is very clean, new sprockets, chain and tires. Aftermarket plastics (Black and orange) runs like a top.