Sport Bikes banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Professional Loser
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In March I had to sell my car and I decided to just keep my bike. I was thinking, "I love my bike. I can do without a car." I've been riding my motorcycle to and from work, school, and everywhere else since then. It has over 5800 miles on it now and I bought it late April with 1.8 miles on it. Its a '04 R6. I'm startig to get worried that I'm going to wear it out really fast. I sold my old 98 ninja 600 with 31000 miles on it, but I was told there was only 9000 on the new engine. How long can I expect my bike to last. Because probably 5300 of those miles are highway and commuting, the engine hasn't been "raced the whole time."

Alright here's the real question though. Should I sell my bike and get a car? I can't have both because, I'm a poor college student. I don't mind the rain cold, or any of the normal complaints. My complaints are anytime I want to buy groceries or carry stuff around I have to ask a friend for a ride. I don't want my bike to need a new engine all the time. Lately my elbows have really been hurting too, and I can't think of anything else that would make them hurt except for riding way too much (almost 2000 miles a month). Lastly I am starting to miss driving a car. Having a place to set things down when I ride, listening to my music on long trips, and having a hard time taking girls out when they don't want to mess up there hair are even more reasons.

Help me out. Anyone else ever been in this situation or have insight?

·
Registered
1,272 Posts
If you don't ride the bike to redline all the time and actually take care of the mike and maintain it properly you can get a lot of miles out of it. There is a guys in europe somewhere that has a bike with 750,000 miles on it. Maintain the bike, don't ride it like you stole it and it will take you very far.