Sport Bikes banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
That's Mrs. Hawker 2U!
5,293 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I cannot tell you all how much Freaking Fun we had at Beloit yesterday. I must admit that when I saw the track "layout" I was thoroughly disappointed, but then we got there.....HOLY CRAP was it fun!!!! Scary as hell at first because the track was lined with straw bales (which meant there was straw everywhere), some tires and these plastic medians. There were manhole covers and then all the cross walk paint on the "carousel". Then on the back straight there was a "kink" that you could pin the bike through but came inches from hitting the barriers on either side.
Since it was so hot, the tires stuck like crazy...it was unbelievable!!! My front brakes were toast so I started riding with the rear....holy crap was that entertaining!!!! I had the bike hopping at the end of every straight...if only I were brave enough to lean it over and try "backing it in". But all the turns were to the right so it was pretty much impossible....well for me anyway. But I did learn how to ride pretty fast, without brakes and feel the whole bike dancing underneath me...it rocked!!! :banana Unfortunately we have no pics of the race. I'll post up the pit pics though when I have a chance. It was pretty cool, we had the Yamaha Canopy with 5 yami's....we were looking all factory 'n stuff!!! :lao
For the feature we did a Leman's (sp?) start. It was cool! The bikes were gridded single file and the riders ran to their bikes, started them and took off...It was AWESOME!!!! Needless to say I am so happy the YZ kicks on the first try! There was some grumbling in the ranks cuz Mike has electric start!!! :eek:nfloor He actually wheelied off the start! It was so cool!