Sport Bikes banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I am a 17 year old male with a clean driving record. I am interested in a ninja 250 as a first bike. I have been riding dirt bikes since I was 8 years old. I'm interested in just cruising around neighborhood streets and low traffic areas. I would wear reflective gear, wear proper safety gear, ride during the daytime, and take some motorcycle training classes. I am a responsible kid who would pay for this bike my self. I'm not looking to stunt or go fast. My parents were on board until we called the insurance company. The insurance company said that because I am a minor, my parents are liable for damages and other people injuries if I did ever get in a crash. How big of a concern is this? Is this true? How would a motorcycle cause such damage? Thanks! JP

·
You are here
3,535 Posts
If you hit something you can damage it. That's why they have liability insurance, which is mandatory in most states. Your folks can pay for it and you can pay them back. Then be good and careful so you never need to use it.

·
Registered
495 Posts
Let me draw you a couple of pictures.

You're driving around the neighborhood on your motorcycle, with no insurance.

You either A) Lose control and hit a parked car - or B) a driven car strays in your way, but most certainly fault gets assigned to you.

In this scenario, the car is a $35,000 car or SUV. It's also this person's only wheels to work. The car requires $8,000 work in parts and paint, and will take two weeks to fix. The owner will need to rent a car to get to work while it's in for repairs. (Another $1,200) So your parents will be on the hook for $9,200. You won't be able to dispute this much as even if you're not much at fault, you'll be found at-fault as an unlicensed or uninsured driver.

Now let's try this one on:

A kid runs in front of you in the streets, chasing a ball. You hit the kid.