Sport Bikes banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
k well like it says...im trying to find a suitable bike for myself, im 6'4 and a bit about 200 pounds, so kinda skinny but whatever, anyways, im very new to the sport, like most kids ive seen in here they have talked bout getting a new r6 for a starter bike, and well to be honest i thought the same thing, but after reading a bit of this forum and hearing countless stories from others, im not exactly sure if i should start off so fast so soon. that being said, im looking for a good bike to get me started, i have very little riding experience, however i do intend on taking riders training here which is sorta equivilant to MSF i assume in the states. Where should i start, being so big/new and whatnot. thanks for the help.

·
Official SBN Party Pooper
20,262 Posts
You should be fine on a 500. Maybe an SV650. Your height shouldn't be too much of a problem. I had a buddy who was 6'6 and rode an F4i...looked like a grasshopper humping a motorcycle but wasn't to unbearable riding it. Good on you for wanting to get a smaller bike and not "following" the crowd. I started on an F4i and things worked okay for me but may not for all

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ex500

im thinkin maybe the ex500, but worried if its too much bike to be starting off with, but if i go smaller, then its just going to look silly....either way i want to be safe about it, and eventually move up into the higher classed bikes...not really concerned about the amount of time it takes to move up, i just want to get that wind blowing by my face soon.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Dude, your attitude is awsome. You should be able to easily handle that bike. You know your limitations, and that is such a good thing. There are so many who buy the speed demons, wipe out, and make us all look bad. My friend, the wind blowing in your face and the hum of that engine is what it is all be about.

·
Registered
10 Posts