Sport Bikes banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
edit: realized there was another board for new-riders and their questions. Can this be moved?

Hello riders, I'm new to the biking world and am thinking of purchasing a bike within the next 3 months or so. I've already taken my MSF course and aready own a class M1 license. Right now, I'm deciding between two well known beginner bikes, the Ninja 500 and the GS500.

I've done a LOT of research on the Ninja, and I'm liking it. However, I recently discovered the GS500, and I prefer the looks of it a whole lot more (the Ninja looks like an elongated bike, I think due to the fairing design, I like the shorter look the GS provided me).

I would like the help of the forum to discuss the pros/cons of each bike, personal experiences, etc. Also, whats the difference between the Suzuki GS500 / GS500E / GS500F?
Thanks, much appreciated,
red_led

·
~ Master Technician ~
2,176 Posts
Motorcycle Consumer News did a review of these two bike last year. See if you can find it. MCN liked the Ninja better due to better brakes, better engine performance and handling.

·
No limit hypocrite
1,695 Posts
pretty sure the Ninja would be cheaper on repairs and parts, but the GS500 just looks NICE.. the GS500F has the fairings from the GSX-R600, and looks sweet, while the ninja looks outdated.. But the GS will be a lot more to repair if you drop it, since it is brand new.. (unless you are talking about an older GS500.)

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
Motorcycle Consumer News also got so many things wrong about the GS that I seriously doubt they actually rode one. They couldn't even get the redline right.